Working Group

A working group provided strategic direction and support to the Middle Childhood Initiative. Members of the working group included: 

  • Janis Douglas (Chair) - Manager, Capacity Development and Community Affairs Boys & Girls Clubs of Canada
  • Peggy Austin, Director, Impact and Investment, Children and Youth, United Way/Centraide Ottawa
  • Jeff Calbick, Planning Consultant, United Way of the Lower Mainland
  • Lana Crossman, Publications Manager, Canadian Child Care Federation
  • Nancy Dutton, Staff Associate, Calgary Children’s Initiative
  • Sara Farrell, Middle Years Matter Coalition, Toronto Public Health
  • Eric Friesen, Manager Youth Programs, United Way of Winnipeg
  • Louise Hanvey, Consultant
  • Maureen Kellerman, Senior Project Manager, Pan-Canadian Early Years Initiative, United Way of Canada – Centraide Canada
  • Joanne McQuiggan, Executive Director, Thrive!
  • Lidia Monaco, Middle Years Matter Coalition of Toronto, Director, Children Youth & Family Services, St. Christopher House
  • Kimberley Murray, Middle Childhood Initiative, City of Ottawa
  • Martha O’Connor, Executive Director, Breakfast for Learning
  • Serge Saint-André, Directeur, Centre du Parc, YMCA du grand Montréal
  • Stephanie Simonsen, Regional Director, Boys and Girls Club of Nova Scotia
  • Maria Sterniczuk, Project Officer, United Nations Association of Canada
  • Jama Watt, Project Co-ordinator, Community and Outreach Development, CHEO
*Note: Some Committee Members may have changed jobs. The list above reflects the organizations the individuals were associated with during the period they were on the Committee.